South Tipperary Junior A Hurling Championship

Ballingarry 1-14 St. Patricks 1-7

Saturday 6th June in Fethard

On Saturday last Ballingarry had a somewhat easy victory over St. Patricks in rain soaked Fethard. After repelling the first attack from Ballingarry St. Patricks attacked and Robert McCormack pointed a free to give the Saints an early lead. St. Pats attacked again but sent wide. After 5 minutes David Cashin pointed for Ballingarry to level matters. St. Patricks had two more wides before Patrick (Blondie) Ivors pointed from the right wing to put Ballingarry ahead. The next few minutes were dominated by St. Patricks but they only had a wide and a point from Tony O Brien to show for this. Blondie Ivors pointed a free for Ballingarry and J.P.O Brien added another from play. St. Pats sent a free wide to leave the score 4 points to 2 in favour of Ballingarry after 15 minutes.

The next 3 points were for Ballingarry with Pat Blondie Ivors pointing two frees and Richard Butler adding another from play. The next ten minutes saw another period of dominance from St. Patricks when Brian McCormack soloed through for a goal and added a point a minute later. St. Pats had a wide but continued to dominate without changing the appearance of the scoreboard. Robert McCormack took a pass from cousin Brian and shot over the bar when a goal seemed on. St. Patricks continued to dominate but only added two more points before half time when Robert McCormack pointed a free and a 65. As St. Patricks turned to face the wind and rain things were looking good for Ballingarry who only trailed by 2 points on a scoreline of 1-6 to 0-7 having faced wind and rain for 30 minutes.

The second half started with Ballingarry availing of the wind to attack but had a an early attempt at goal blocked by St. Pats goalie John Moroney when Pat Ivors tried for a goal from a free. Ballingarry continued to attack and had a wide before a long ball from Kevin Fitzgerald went to the net following a deflection from a St. Pats defender. After 5 minutes Robert McCormack had his shot at goal deflected over the bar by Ballingarry goalie Kevin Croke. This was to be St. Pats last score of the game. Richard Butler pointed for Ballingarry and both teams exchanged wides. J.P. O Brien had a Ballingarry point and Blondie Ivors pointed two frees one from his own 65 metre line. Darren Kelly pointed for Ballingarry who had two wides one a very good effort from a sideline ball which went narrowly wide. Brian Cooney and Don Lyons added points for Ballingarry who also had another wide. St. Patricks attacked but only added two further wides. Ballingarry had a wide before Richard Butler soloed through for a point to end the evenings activity.

This was a game in which the experience of Ballingarry won out over the youth of St. Patricks who will regret not taking their scores with the advantage of the wind in the first half. Ballingarry were best served by Daniel Fennelly, Kevin Fitzgerald, David Cashin, Richard Butler and Brian Cooney. For St. Patricks Kieran Clancy , Declan Ryan, Liam Brett and Danny Gleeson could not be faulted.

Teams: Ballingarry: Kevin Croke, Thomas Maher, Danny Fitzgerald, John Fitzgerald, Brian Kelly, Daniel Fennelly, Kevin Fitzgerald, Darren Kelly, David Cashin, Richard Butler, J.P.O Brien, Brian Cooney, Patrick (Blondie) Ivors, Don Lyons, Seán Purcell. Subs: Alan cooney for Brian Kelly, Billy Horan for John Fitzgerald, Kevin O Connell for Thomas Maher, Damian Fitzgerald for Daniel Fennelly, Johnny Holohan for Seán Purcell.

St. Patricks: John Moroney, Kieran Clancy, Declan Ryan, Patrick Moroney, Liam Brett, Seán Horan, Eoghan Mccormack, Danny Gleeson, Conor Barry, P.J. Burke, Brian McCormack, Tony O Brien, Noel Brett, Robert McCormack, Nial Gleeson. Sub. Jason Hayes for P.J. Burke.

Referee Pa Shelly Killenaule.


2 Responses to “South Tipperary Junior A Hurling Championship”

  1. The minor hurling manager of my grandsons team would love a challenge match, Mayfield is the second best team in cork, John was down the weekend and he approached him.
    Yours margaret molloy

  2. […] South Tipperary Junior A Hurling Championship June 2009 1 comment 4 […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: