Goals Swing It For Kilsheelan

South MHC ‘B’

Kilsheelan-Kilcash 3-13

St. Patrick’s 0-19

The saying ‘goals win matches’ was very much in evidence at Monroe when Kilsheelan-Kilcash came away with a three point win over St. Pats.

The game was a great advertisement for this grade. Two evenly matches teams provided some fine passages of hurling. Well executed moves often resulted in some superb scores. St. Patrick’s tally of 19 points would win most games and one could say that they might have deserved a share of the spoils.

St. Pats had a top class freetaker in Tony O’Brien and his contribution from long range frees was a factor. He opened the scoring with an effort from half way. Dean Mulcahy and Damien McCarthy, from out at the sideline, put Kilsheelan ahead. In the remainder of the half O’Brien with Kilsheelan’s John Kehoe were major contributors to the scoreline. Kilsheelan received a boost after twenty three minutes when Damien McCarthy fielded a high ball and shot to the net. At half time his side were in the ascendancy by 1-06 to 0-07. On the resumption Stephen Ahearne took a shot from out near the sideline, the ball hit the upright before crossing the line for a rather fortuitous goal.

St. Pats made light of this set back and were on level terms when they had three points from O’Brien, Mark Fitzgerald and Ciaran Maher and they looked like getting a grip on the game. It was Kilsheelan’s turn to attack and they had points from Stephen Ahearne and Alex Harte only for Nicky Kearney and Marcus O’Halloran to do likewise.

The hurling continued fast and furious as both sides sought supremacy. In the 47th minute Kilsheelan had a further goal when Stephen Ahearne slammed to the net. Over the next two minutes John Kehoe shot three points while Niall Gleeson and Tony O’Brien were also on the mark. Kilsheelan had a six point advantage going into the closing minutes but St. Pats pressed hard. They had two further points from frees by Tony O’Brien and a point from Niall Gleeson as Kilsheelan held out for a narrow win.

Kilsheelan – Kilcash: Adrian McGuire, Declan Cashman, David Ryan, Ruairi Doyle, Daire Corcoran, Kevin Larkin, Bill Maher 0-01, Donnchadh Corcoran, Dean Mulcahy 0-01, Stephen Ahearne 2-03, John Kehoe 0-06, Joseph Brennan, Alex Harte 0-01, Darren McCarthy 1-01, William Lonergan.

St. Patrick’s: Brendan Gleeson, Robert Maher, Tommy Hayes, Paul Tierney, Jonathon Hickey, Damien Barry, Aidan Maher, Marcus O’Halloran 0-01, Tony O’Brien 0-09, Ciaran Maher 0-01, Niall Gleeson 0-04, Nicky Kearney 0-02, Stephen Gleeson, Mark Fitzgerald 0-01, Stephen Coffey 0-01.

Referee: Pa Shelly (Killenaule)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: