South Tipperary Junior A Football Championship

Thursday 16th July 2009.

St. Patricks 4-5

Cahir 4-4

On Thursday last in Ned Hall Park Clonmel St. Patricks scored 2 late goals to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

The first score came in the second minute when Eoghan Mccormack took a pass from Seán Horan and pointed for St. Patricks. St. Patricks kept attacking but to no avail and the next score was for Cahir in the sixth minute when Barry McCormack pointed a free. A movement by St. Patricks started with Keith Browne who passed to Brian McCormack and ended with Tony O Brien scoring a great goal. Both sides attacked but the wet conditions ensured that defenders had the best of the exchanges and the next score was 10 minutes later when Pakie O Dwyer scored a Cahir point. Seán Horan replied with a St. Patricks point. 3 wides followed 2 for Cahir and one for St. Patricks and the final score of the first half was a fine goal by Co. Minor Eddie Kendrick to leave the score 1-2 each at half time. While St. Patricks had controlled most of the exchanges their lack of finishing power left them regretting their many missed chances.

St. Patricks controlled the early exchanges but their first 3 attempts went wide before Philip Britton pointed 2 frees. Cormac Crowe brought Cahir back into the game when he went through for a great goal. Each side had a wide and Barry McCormack goaled for Cahir. Eoghan McCormack replied with a St. Patricks goal having taken a pass from Philip Britton. At the three quarter stage the scores were Cahir 3-2 to 2-4 for St. Patricks. Barry McCormack had a Cahir point and Cormac Crowe followed with a goal and Barry McCormack pointed a free in the 22nd minute which was to be their last score of the evening. The next 5 minutes were scoreless until Seán Horans shot at goal was deflected over the bar by Cahir goalie Evan O Dwyer. St. Patricks kept on attacking and late goals from Paul Horan and Philip Britton stole a victory for St. Patricks in the dying minutes. Cahir made one last effort to equalise but the St. Patricks defence stood firm. Best for St. Patricks were Kieran Clancy, Declan Ryan, Keith Browne, Tony O Brien, Philip Britton & Paul Horan. Cahir were best served by Joe McEniry, Seán O Connor, Eddie Kendrick and Cormac Crowe who seemed to have a part in almost every Cahir move.

Scorers: St. Patricks: Philip Britton 1-2; Eoghan McCormack 1-1; Tony O Brien & Paul Horan 1-0 each Seán Horan 0-2.

Cahir: Cormac Crowe 2-0; Barry McCormack 1-3; Eddie Kendrick 1-0; Robbie Cunningham0-1.

Teams: St. Patricks: Marcus O Halloran, Kieran Clancy, Declan Ryan, Keith Browne, Noel Brett, Liam Brett, Patrick Moroney, P.J.Burke, Brian McCormack, Tony O Brien, Paul Horan, Robert McCormack, Philip Britton, Seán Horan, Eoghan McCormack. Subs: Colm Dunne for Keith Browne (Injured), John Moroney for Robert McCormack.

Cahir: Evan O Dwyer, Kieran O Dwyer, Aidan Burke, Joe McEniry, Willie Reidy, Jason Grant, Seán O Connor, Eddie Meehan, Eddie Kendrick, Cormac Crowe, Pakie O Dwyer, Robbie Cunningham, Shane Murphy, Barry McCormack, James English. Subs: David Quinn for Robbie Cunningham, John B. O Brien for Willie Reidy, David Baker for James English.

Referee: Keith Delahunty (Moyle Rovers)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: