Meelin take Provincial crown with ease

St. Patricks 0-9 Meelin(Cork) 5-18

Unfortunately from a St. Patricks point of view Meelin had the Munster Junior A Final very much their own way last Sunday in Mallow.

St. Pats started well with two points on the board to no score from Meelin. But it wasn’t long before Meelin got into their stride. Their midfield got on top and started to play good ball into their inside forward line. The first goal came from a mistake by a St. Pats defender and Eamon Brosnan capitalised fully with their first green flag. Another two goals came soon after and from Meelin perspective they would say that they were well taken, which they were, but from St. Pats viewpoint they should have possibly been cleared out of the danger area. With the three first half goals Meelin’s confidence grew and they played some very good hurling. Their interplay was very impressive. St. Pats struggled to contain them and went in sixteen points down at half time.

In the second half St. Pats tried hard but they were never going to turn the game around. Meelin tagged on more scores and unfortunately for our lads picked up two more goals. Meelin were very impressive and thoroughly deserved their win. Their midfield were immense and all their six forwards had the ability to take scores with their full forward Curtain and corner forward Brosnan very much to the fore.

For St. Pats it was a disappointing day and we most definitely didn’t show our true form. Well done to all the players and management for providing us with such an enjoyable year.

Scorers — Meelin : E Brosnan 1-7 (0-4f) DJ O’Sullivan 2-1, J Curtin 1-2, B O’Sullivan 0-3, S O’Riordan 1-0, John Forrest, W Murphy 0-2 each, W Buckley 0-1. St Patrick’s: T O’Brien 0-6 (0-2f, 0-1 ’65’), J McCormack, B McCormack, S Horan 0-1 each.

MEELIN — S O’Sullivan; M Forrest, D O’Riordan, D Linehan; W Buckley, K Collins, Jerry Forrest (Capt); L Collins, W Murphy; John Forrest, S O’Riordan, B O’Sullivan; E Brosnan, J Curtin, DJ O’Sullivan, Subs: C Murphy for B O’Sullivan, TJ Brosnan for D Linehan, J O’Doherty for W Buckley, B Collins for J Curtin, L O’Sullivan for S O’Sullivan.

ST PATRICK’S — J Moroney; K Clancy, E McCormack, R Needham; J Hayes, L Brett, P Moran; C Barry, S Gorey; W McCormack, S Horan, D Gleeson; T O’Brien, B McCormack, R McCormack Subs: N Gleeson for R Needham, P Moroney for K Clancy, PJ Burke for S Gorey, T O’Connor for R McCormack, C Dunne for E McCormack.

Ref — M Wadding (Waterford).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: